Why I quilt

I wanted to tell you a little bit more about me. My name is Dana and I love to quilt.

I made my first quilts in 2011. I made two quilts, one for each of my girls. They turned out so well and that is when I fell in love with quilting.

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/ae6/79041221/files/2014/12/img_1776.png/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/ae6/79041221/files/2014/12/img_1777.png

I grew up, in the summers going to my grandmas house in Pocatello, ID. I loved watching her sew on her sewing machine and was always wanting to know what new treasure she had found at the quilt shop. She tried and tried to teach me how to use her sewing machine but it just wasn’t meant to be I guess.

In college I decided to give sewing another chance and signed up for home decor sewing. I sat down at my desk on the first day of class and was amazed with the bernina sewing machine in front of me. It had so many buttons and was so shiny and new. That class helped me fall in love with sewing. I went on to take 2 more sewing classes and loved every second of them./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/ae6/79041221/files/2014/12/img_1780.png

I dabbled in sewing different projects over the next few years. One day I decided I wanted to make quilts for my girls beds and I stumbled upon a craftsy class taught by Camille Roskelly. Isn’t she amazing!! I look up to her so much./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/ae6/79041221/files/2014/12/img_1778.png

I was hooked after that. She made the process so easy and simple. That is the message that I want everyone to take away from my site as well. Making quilts is a wonderful process that doesn’t have to be scary or overwhelming./home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/ae6/79041221/files/2014/12/img_1779.png

I have fallen in love with quilt making. I love having them in my home and seeing how much others enjoy the quilts I make for them. I hope you can fall in love with quilt making as well.

Leave a Reply

